John Pearson Timeline

October 1930 - born
DATE TBC - Educated at King's College School, Wimbledon
DATE TBC - Educated at Peterhouse, Cambridge, where he won a double first in history
DATE TBC - He then worked for The Economist, BBC Television and the Sunday Times. He was Ian Fleming's assistant at the Sunday Times
DATE TBC - Pearson was commissioned by Donald Campbell to chronicle his successful attempt on the Land Speed Record in 1964 in Bluebird CN7, resulting in the book Bluebird and the Dead Lake
1962 - Publication of Airline Detective: The Fight Against International Air Crime, under the name "Donald E. W. Fish" - published also as Zero One
1962 - Publication of Gone To Timbuctoo, winner of the Author's Club First Novel Award
1965 - Publication of The Persuasion Industry with Graham Turner        - Publication of Bluebird and the Dead Lake, published in the US as The Last Hero: The Gallant Story of Donald Campbell and the Land Speed Record in 1966
1966 - Publication of The Life of Ian Fleming, the first biography of Ian Fleming
1967 - The Kray twins hired Pearson to write their biography. Over the next several years the brothers, who by now were in jail, wrote frequently to Pearson. He wrote two further books about the Krays: The Cult of Violence: The Untold Story of the Krays and Notorious: The Immortal Legend of the Kray Twins
1972 - Publication of The Profession of Violence: The Rise and Fall of the Kray Twins, nominated for an Edgar Allen Poe Award
1973 - Publication of James Bond: The Authorized Biography of 007
1973 - Publication of Arena: The Story of the Colosseum
1975 - Publication of Edward the Rake, published in the U.S. as Edward the Rake: An Unwholesome Biography of Edward VII
1976 - Publication of The Bellamys of Eaton Place - published in the U.S. as The Bellamy Saga
1978 - Pearson's book Facades was the first full-scale biography of the Sitwell siblings. It was published as Facades: Edith, Osbert and Sacheverell Sitwell in the UK and The Sitwells in the US the following year
1978 - Publication of Biggles: The Authorised Biography
1979 - Publication of Barbara Cartland: Crusader in Pink, first published under "Henry Cloud"
1980 - Pearson married his wife Lynette Frankland née Dundas
1982 - Publication of The Kindness of Dr Avicenna
1983 - Publication of Stags and Serpents: The Story of the House of Cavendish and the Dukes of Devonshire, published in the U.S. as The Serpent and the Stag the following year
1986 - Publication of The Ultimate Family: The Making of the Royal House of Windsor, published in the U.S. as The Selling of the Royal Family: The Mystique of the British Monarchy
1991 - Publication of Citadel of the Heart: Winston and the Churchill Dynasty, published in the U.S. as The Private Lives of Winston Churchill
1995 - Publication of Painfully Rich: the Outrageous Fortunes and Misfortunes of the Heirs of J. Paul Getty
1999 - Publication of Blood Royal: The Story of the Spencers and the Royals
2001 - Publication of The Cult of Violence: The Untold Story of the Krays - a sequel to The Profession of Violence
2003 - Publication of One of the Family: The Englishman and the Mafia
2005 - Publication of The Gamblers: John Aspinall, James Goldsmith and the Murder of Lord Lucan, an account of the group of gamblers who made up what was known as the Clermont Set
2010 - Publication of Notorious: The Immortal Legend of the Kray Twins - a sequel to The Profession of Violence and The Cult of Violence
2010 - Pearson put up for auction more than 160 previously unseen letters and photographs from the Kray twins. The items sold for £20,780.
​2013 - Pearson's story of The Gamblers made into a TV series called 'Lucan' starring Michael Gambon and Christopher Eccleston, to be aired on ITV in two parts on 11th and 18th December 2013.
john pearson the author