Book pages

The Gamblers

About... The Gamblers

The Gamblers, is an account of the group of gamblers who made up what was known as the Clermont Set, including John Aspinall, James Goldsmith and Lord Lucan. Warner Bros. purchased the film rights to the book in 2006.

Pearson's story of The Gamblers has now been made into a TV series called 'Lucan' starring Michael Gambon and Christopher Eccleston, to be aired on ITV1 in two parts on 11th and 18th December 2013.

A Note from the Author

"When I started working on this book, I saw it as a chronicle of the rise and fall of the so-called Clermont Set and, as such, a fascinating part of the social history or the Sixties and early Seventies. Certainly the last thing I foresaw was getting involved in the story of what did or didn't happen to Lord Lucan. But books have a strange way of asserting an existence of their own, and quite early on in my research I began to realise how profoundly that mysterious event came to dominate the lives of those around him."
john pearson the author