Gone To Timbuctoo (1962) - winner of the Authors' Club First Novel Award
James Bond: The Authorized Biography of 007 (1973)
The Bellamys of Eaton Place (1976) - published in the U.S. as The Bellamy Saga
Biggles: The Authorised Biography (1978)
The Kindness of Dr Avicenna (1982)


Airline Detective: The Fight Against International Air Crime (1962) as "Donald E. W. Fish" (also published in paperback in the UK as Zero One) (with Graham Turner)
The Persuasion Industry (1965)
Bluebird and the Dead Lake (1965) (published in the U.S. as The Last Hero: The Gallant Story of Donald Campbell and the Land Speed Record in 1966)
The Profession of Violence: The Rise and Fall of the Kray Twins (1972) - nominated for an Edgar Allan Poe Award
Arena: The Story of the Colosseum (1973)
Edward the Rake (1975) (published in the U.S. as Edward the Rake: An Unwholesome Biography of Edward VII)
Facades: Edith, Osbert and Sacheverell Sitwell (1978) (published in the U.S. as The Sitwells in 1979)
Barbara Cartland: Crusader in Pink (1979), first published as by "Henry Cloud" but subsequently republished under his own name
Stags and Serpents: The Story of the House of Cavendish and the Dukes of Devonshire (1983) (published in the U.S. as The Serpent and the Stag in 1984)
The Ultimate Family: The Making of the Royal House of Windsor (1986) (published in the U.S. as The Selling of the Royal Family: The Mystique of the British Monarchy)
Citadel of the Heart: Winston and the Churchill Dynasty (1991) (published in the U.S. as The Private Lives of Winston Churchill)
Painfully Rich: the Outrageous Fortunes and Misfortunes of the Heirs of J. Paul Getty (1995)
Blood Royal: The Story of the Spencers and the Royals (1999)
The Cult of Violence: The Untold Story of the Krays (2001) - a sequel to The Profession of Violence
One of the Family: The Englishman and the Mafia (2003)
Notorious: The Immortal Legend of the Kray Twins (2010) - a sequel to The Profession of Violence and The Cult of Violence

Where to buy

Most of John Pearson's books are available to buy online, so head to the John Pearson Author Page on Amazon.

Full Bibliography

john pearson the author